Proof there are a million ways to value invest WIN/UNIT

Gregmal

Humble take.

It is the story of an activist-type hedge fund that gets involved in distressed scenarios and who is ready to use variable strategies in order to realize large gains.

The case seems to revolve around the definition of a sale-leaseback transaction done by a sub of a holding company that had issued bonds with indentures that could be interpreted in many ways.

The judge had to decide if the issuing firm unfairly avoided default or if the active player in the restructuring is trying to fabricate a default.

The latter won the last battle but I would say that the jury is still out.

I read the decision. There were two main issues.

Was the sale of the network a sale-leaseback? If so, they violated their covenants and had an event of default, which required them to buy back these bonds. I'm not a lawyer, but it seems pretty obviously yes.

The second question was did they successfully weasel out of the default by converting other types of bonds into this class and getting them to waive the default. Still not a lawyer, and the judge ruled their machinations didn't count because the new debt wasn't allowed to vote under the indenture.

This is a pretty interesting situation.  When Windstream did the exchange for this debt maturity, those that exchanged the debt agreed to waive the default claim.  I think a majority of the bondholders did the exchange, except Aurelius of course. Will be interesting to see how this “forced default” plays out in court, not only with Aurelius but also with the other bondholders.  I suspect this situation will drag out for quite some time.