Author Topic: EAF - GrafTech  (Read 21511 times)

Spekulatius

Re: EAF - GrafTech
« Reply #110 on: October 05, 2019, 06:25:14 AM »
  • Another key point of the bull thesis is that the Chinese lack the know how for building UHP graphite electrodes. However, management indicated some months ago that 2-3 players there had managed to build some UHP graphite electrodes, even if not yet production ready. Nevertheless, should we see this as an indication that the chinese will eventually get there? If so, it would only be a matter of time before graphite electrode supply increases.

I am no expert in this field, but based on my general knowledge of material science and the Chinese abilities to reverse engineer, I donít think it will be too hard for Chinese companies to create their own UHP needle coke supply. The general process is known, equipment to do this can be purchased, so itís matter to learn some tricks of the trade that are proprietary. It will happen, itís just a matter of time.
To be a realist, one has to believe in miracles.

Fitz

« Reply #111 on: October 06, 2019, 05:42:03 PM »
  • A key argument of the bull thesis is that there is not enough petroleum needle coke. Now, a lot of capacity was shut down some years ago (partly the reason of the recent under supply). That capacity may take some time to rebuild cannot be denied, but the fact that much more capacity existed in the past, however, must mean that enough input existed, and possibly is still available today to expand capacity again. I am talking about decant oil. If decant oil is not a constraint, does that mean that it is only a matter of time before petroleum needle cake supply increases?