Author Topic: IBKR - Interactive Brokers  (Read 169275 times)

Mungerish

Re: IBKR - Interactive Brokers
« Reply #360 on: April 05, 2017, 09:37:24 AM »
Thanks for that link. I had not paid any attention because the costs are so minimal to us usually buying 500-1000 shares per individual trade.

My point is that, even as a low vol trader, I would have to be doing trades of over 1400 shares at a time to be better off with Fidelity or Schwab. They could be charging me .0045 per share and I would not blink.

iambagman

« Reply #361 on: April 05, 2017, 06:59:47 PM »
Yes, your broker determines commission to you, but that is influenced by how much the broker pays to custodian, assuming they are not integrated.  See IB's comments on introducing broker pricing and bundling.

My point is that the custodian matters greatly to institutional investors, esp post-Lehman. As discussed at length above, while IB is not the household name of JP or GS, IB is most likely a safer custodian for your client capital.   

That all said, and to KCLarkin's point, I would venture that the perception of IB's sub-par reporting functionality and customer service are a bigger hurdle for most HF/RIA clients than the balance sheet needing to be safer.

This notion of bad customer service for IB is often repeated.  If you have a large enough account (and it does not have to be that large) there is a "prime" desk at IB that picks up on the first ring every time.  The service is excellent. So perception maybe a problem as you say - but actual service to even a small hedge fund is excellent if they are on the "prime" desk and not calling the 800 number.  The reporting is powerful as well. Again there is a disconnect between perception and reality.