Author Topic: TGT - Target  (Read 11389 times)

50centdollars

Re: TGT - Target
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2015, 10:48:05 AM »
Funny thing is that whenever I go to the US, I shop at Target but I would never go to a target here in Canada. They never did there research before coming here. Canadians love target but we love the US target with US products and US prices. We don't want/need a Canadian target with Canadian products and Canadian prices.
50centdollars

mrholty

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2015, 11:15:06 AM »
TGT's mgmt. has been living off past success since 2008 (if not earlier).  CEO Rob Steinhafel was named CEO in 2008 and has not done much until he was forced to resign in early 2014 due to the data breach. 

I graduated from UW-Madison at Target hired aggressively in the B-school there for marketing/merchandising positions.   It was their primary school for hiring even over Minnesota-Twin Cities even though that campus in a few miles from their corporate office.  I therefore had a few friends who worked there and one former intern of mine who works there today.  In fact I went to their presentation on campus and Rob Steinhafel was the presenter.  I remember this as his last name is the name of a regional furniture store in the area and it came up that he chose Target over the family business out of school thinking he would get experience for a different retailer and then come back to work for the family business.  He loved and grew with Target and never left.