Author Topic: The SAT Disadvantage score  (Read 1526 times)

rukawa

The SAT Disadvantage score
« on: May 18, 2019, 11:59:54 AM »
SAT is now including a component which rates people higher based on social disadvantage:
https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2019/05/explaining-the-college-boards-new-adversity-scores/589708/

Wow.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2019, 12:15:32 PM by rukawa »

UNF2007

Re: The SAT Disadvantage score
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2019, 01:55:08 PM »
Saw that, not sure what the right answer is, but kids who have families that can pay for test prep/go to better schools etc. are clearly at an advantage. When I was a kid my parents didn't even know what the SAT was, I studied for it by checking out an old prep book from the library, while I worked a part time job bagging groceries. I did well enough to get into college, but I had no chance vs the people who were in the know about the stakes of it and had the money to prepare, given the same intelligence. So I'm not sure how comparable our scores were. I bet there are enough people out there who are pretty smart, but just don't have the resources to prepare, which is skewing the results enough that they have decided to do this.

Gregmal

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2019, 02:10:02 PM »
SAT and standardized tests are more about aptitude than test prep or circumstance. Math/logic and grammar/spelling... you either know it or you don't. If you have to memorize how to find the measurement of an angle or what quintessential means... you probably are going to struggle in life anyway. Common sense gets you to 650+ on each section, which along with solid grades and a bit of extracurriculars, gets you into most schools.

Deepdive

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2019, 09:53:09 PM »