Author Topic: Trump Derangement Syndrome  (Read 27092 times)

cobafdek

Re: Trump Derangement Syndrome
« Reply #120 on: March 14, 2018, 08:10:52 PM »
Hey that's fine, we can end the discussion. It's OK by me to agree to disagree. And thanks for the link but I'm not trying to learn tools of persuasion.

As a self-appointed T.A. in Prof. Munger's psychology course, I add you to the list of flunkards among the board members.  Sad!  I can assure you that you don't know what you're missing out on.  Among other things, you would have been more likely to avoid the following remarkable hallucination:

Outside of mathematics and the physical sciences, you'll probably find out over the years and decades that it is futile, and rarely works in issues of real life, such as politics.
I'm a mathematician in "real life" and I think history would show that math and science are just as worthwhile as any other endeavor. As Cardboard mentioned above, I don't believe there is anything to lose from performing scientific analysis. And finally, that came off as a condescending thing of you to say.

I concur with your harsh criticism of something I never said or implied.  (But I thank you for providing another unwitting example appropriate for this TDS thread:  you guys just can't help yourselves!)  Einstein must be condescending, too ("As far as the laws of mathematics refer to reality, they are not certain; and as far as they are certain, they do not refer to reality"), if you'll permit me to extend his comments beyond what he was talking about in geometry.

Isn't this what Kahneman describes with fast and slow thinking?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksopQLMQsq8
Tell me about your assumptions and reasoning process so we can share (and compare). :)

Studying Kahneman and Tversky is essential.  It's a great start.

LC

« Reply #121 on: March 14, 2018, 10:02:09 PM »