Author Topic: 401k Investing Options  (Read 1677 times)

chrispy

401k Investing Options
« on: September 30, 2016, 04:05:26 PM »
Hi all,

This is my first post and I am excited to learn more from everyone and share some myself with the community here.

I will lead off with the fact that I am 28 and a little over a year ago discovered Buffet and Munger.  Learning about them pushed me towards the idea of value investing and the brilliant concept of their business model.  My background is in engineering so playing with numbers is very fun but my background is not in a field like finance or accounting.

I have investments outside of my employer sponsored 401k that I am content with and were purchased at fair/low valuations (FRFHF, MKL, BRKB).  The main area of investing that makes me uncomfortable at this moment is my 401k due to lack of investment options (funds only).  A month or so ago my company switched 401k providers and now I have the choice of what to put my investments into.  Before this switch I was using a nice S&P500 index and an intermediate term bond index that Buffet or Bogle preach.  I was very content with that.  But now the idea of putting a majority of my money into the S&P is a little concerning due to the high P/E multiples, the continuous decline in projected growth, and the dependence on near zero interest rates.  Seems like very little upside possibility and a large possibility of a decline.  My questions that I would like to bounce off everyone are:

1) Markets can never be timed.  Should I continue with the S&P500 and intermediate bond fund and simply allocate less to equities?
2) Should I move purely into bonds with the idea of getting some return and waiting for the markets to decline?  I will admit that I have trouble understanding the risks bond funds have in this current environment.
3) Should I go to all cash and wait for something big?