Author Topic: Ask Packer - No Seriously, Ask Him Anything (AHA)!  (Read 292039 times)

finetrader

• Lifetime Member
Re: Ask Packer - No Seriously, Ask Him Anything (AHA)!
« Reply #80 on: November 24, 2013, 12:22:57 PM »
I agree with your observations Packer.

The treat is video streaming. And I guess that's why we hear tv satellite providers looking for ways to become an internet provider. Be it by buying radio waves that would allow to send internet signal or by buying wired network.

As for cable companies, if video streaming become big I'm pretty confident they will find a way to charge more for internet services to compensate for loss on tv services. The last mile providers have always found a way to protect their revenues.

As for data (video) transmission via cell towers, I'm not an expert but my understanding is that it is quite costly to transmit large bandwidth.
Live to invest, invest to live

racemize

• Lifetime Member
« Reply #81 on: November 24, 2013, 03:09:08 PM »
Yes, I'm mostly concerned with Internet replacing TV services, particularly for satellites (looking at DTV right now).  It seems like the transition will be much easier for cable companies than satellite providers, unless they pull off the cellular internet bundling...

Absolutely agree that free Wi-Fi is not a threat--seems weird that they would mention that in the article, honestly.

meiroy

• Lifetime Member
« Reply #82 on: November 24, 2013, 05:56:22 PM »
[quote author=Packer16 link=topic=8617.msg143115#msg143115 date=1385319654As Malone has stated the key is the wide pipe.  If entertainment starts to use more bandwidth you will see growth in broadband providers both telco and cable and Starbucks wifi hot spot just won't suffice.

Packer
[/quote]

Just to invert this, if someone like Google comes out with disruptive technology it's game over?

Packer16

• Lifetime Member
  • Go Riders Go! Go Pack Go!
« Reply #83 on: November 24, 2013, 06:07:05 PM »