Author Topic: Rental Properties?  (Read 6794 times)

LC

Re: Rental Properties?
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2018, 11:07:41 AM »
Really depends on your budget.

About 4 years ago I did a 2 year MBA program in NYC. 99% waste of time (from an educational perspective) - with one exception. I took a class called real estate entrepreneurship. It was taught by a guy who moved to NYC from Iran in the 70s. He bought a bunch of row houses in Harlem with about 10 of his coworkers. 40 years later they have 50 affordable housing buildings across NYC.

Couple of key things I remember:
-Large projects (esp 80/20s) hinge on syndicated tax breaks (IIRC state street has the monopoly here) and low-interest financing provided by the city/state
-Air rights are extremely important. Usually they are obtained by purchasing your neighbors' air rights.
-Lot location on a row of lots is important. End lots can get squeezed out by a developer, whereas middle lots are harder to ignore.
-As someone mentioned, environmental remediation is important. They developed a gas station on a corner of Central park  but had to foot a huge bill for the soil remediation. Negotiation is key here.

Use your city resources. NYC is well-developed in terms of available city resources. You can easily search lot information, tax information, DOB permit information. Harder to do but still possible is search all sites with environmental issues.
"Lethargy bordering on sloth remains the cornerstone of our investment style."
------------------------------------------------------------------
brk.b | khc | nke | mo | renx | c | wppgy | dis | cmp

LounginMKL

« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2018, 12:42:43 PM »
I live in SF and can give some color on rent-controlled properties here. After talking to a few apartment owners, I learned that