Defense contractors

KJP

Defense contractors have fallen alongside everything else.  On the theory that (ii) their primary customer (U.S. government) will keep paying, and (ii) neither Trump nor Biden (nor Cuomo 2020) will push for defense spending cuts in the near future, I've started looking at them.  I have no background knowledge, so these are some initial, first-pass, relatively uneducated thoughts.  I welcome comments and insights about the industry generally, specific companies listed below, or other companies I should add to the research list.

General industry thoughts:  Overall, it looks like strong, stable cash flows and some of the most dominant competitive positions you will find, e.g., BWXT in naval nuclear reactors and Huntington Ingalls in aircraft carriers.  The other IT/systems companies may have as big or bigger moats, but that's not as easy for me to assess one way or the other.  Many companies have significant pension liabilities, but the U.S. government is on the hook for most of it.  So, the balance sheet entry probably isn't a big concern.  There do, however, appear to be some differences in how the companies account for these pensions (FAS/CAS adjustments) in their discussions of operating income.  I need to look at that further.

BWX Technologies (BWXT) – Dominant in nuclear reactors for US Navy ships -- may have no real competition here; also has ancillary nuclear businesses (commercial reactors; radioisotopes; remediation; space/NASA) ; even with recent share price decline, it’s trading at 16x EV/EBIT