Understanding Public Electric Company FCF

nickenumbers

All,

I have been nosing around in a couple public electric company like Duke and NextEra.  Their FCF just sucks, but I suspect that they are playing by a different set of rules in their industry.

Their CapEx is enormous relative to their Operating Cash.

They fund it all with Debt and Equity.  What is going on here?

Can someone give me the basics of FCF for this industry.  Thanks.

I'm curious what attracts you to utilities which, as a sector, are trading near all time highs.  The P/E ratios are ridiculous compared to historical averages.  This at time when energy demand is declining and long term trends are towards decentralized power generation.

Back to your question.  I'm not an accounting expert, but here is how your average regulated utility operates:

Utilities operate on margin because the amount of capital required to build an asset base (power plants, transmission lines, etc) would be extremely inefficient from a capital management standpoint.  One of the side effects of regulated utilities operating on margin is the sensitivity to interest rates.  Many times it can take multiple years to complete a large scale project and the projects are funded, at least in part or in whole, by floating rate debt.  If interest rates increase the operating profits will be negatively impacted, and vice versa with falling interest rates.  This effect is termed "regulatory lag". You can probably find a better definition on Google. 

Something else unique to utilities is they pay very little in taxes.  They maximize depreciation expenses by capitalizing as much operating expense as possible.  This isn't necessarily a bad thing because in general taxes are just passed onto the consumer.

Typically return on equity will be in the high single digit range for a well run regulated utility.  They can be higher for an unregulated utility in a decreasing rate environment.