Author Topic: ALS.TO - Altius Minerals  (Read 1883911 times)

PlanMaestro

• Lifetime Member
    • Variant Perceptions
Re: ALS.TO - Altius Minerals
« Reply #690 on: June 16, 2012, 11:51:53 AM »
I studied some of Berkshire's late 70s investments a while ago to see what he was up to then.

Turns out Buffett owned Cleveland-Cliffs then as well: http://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/1980.html

Sorry for the departure, but what happened to Woolworth as an investment? They tried to reinvent themselves into the discount stores (Woolco) but they failed (Innovators Dilemma, Christensen). Thinking about all these retailers RSH, SVU, OMX, BBY, JCP, SHLD, that I am avoiding for the moment. Also wondering why Buffett/Munger tried retail again after the bad experience with department stores in the 60s.

A short answer would suffice.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2012, 12:00:45 PM by PlanMaestro »

Dazel

« Reply #691 on: June 21, 2012, 07:05:45 AM »

naboo

« Reply #692 on: June 26, 2012, 03:15:22 PM »
*****  Every Penny Counts *****

Dazel

« Reply #693 on: June 27, 2012, 07:09:18 AM »
http://altiusminerals.com/uploads/April-2012-MDA-ver-7.pdf

As expected...the loss was from their $6.7 m share of the loss from Alderon. We would like to see the $2.7m in interest from their treasury holdings become much higher from buying something in this environment...just to add to the upside of what is there. We are really excited at the prospect of a another international royalty like purchase in this environment.

Near term Alderon continues to be a catalyst....when the feasibility study is done and the cash from their Hebei and Liberty partnership is in the treasury Alderon will rise significantly.

Dazel.

Dazel

« Reply #694 on: June 27, 2012, 08:05:24 AM »

Altius looks like a sitting duck.