Author Topic: Hedging exposure  (Read 2332 times)

Aurelius

Hedging exposure
« on: February 26, 2020, 05:56:11 AM »
Looking for some help hedging my long (tech) exposure, as I’m totally new to shorting/hedging. Don’t want to sell because of tax reasons. I’m on Interactive Brokers.

For example I own GOOG. If I wanted to hedge this position I should be able to sell GOOGL, right?

I own names like GOOG, FB, AMZN.
I’m thinking shorting the Nasdaq to hedge some of my exposure. How would I do that? Is there a simple way to go short the index?

gfp

• Lifetime Member
Re: Hedging exposure
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2020, 06:46:25 AM »
I'm sure you could get more specific with ETF's but it sounds like you are looking to short the QQQ, a very liquid exchange traded fund that tracks the Nasdaq 100 index.  I would check with an advisor on the tax legitimacy of using a GOOGL short to hedge a position in GOOG.  It is possible you could get into trouble in the same account.

- look into "constructive sale" rules on substantially identical securities
« Last Edit: February 26, 2020, 06:48:32 AM by gfp »

John Hjorth

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2020, 07:06:09 AM »
Aurelius,

If I remember correctly, you're Danish :

Kursgevinstbeskatningsloven, chapter 6 - Financial Contracts.

[In short, gains [and losses] from financial contracts are taxed separately, and not as part of your "Aktieindkomst" [Translated to English : Income from stocks]].
”In the race of excellence … there is no finish line.”
-HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai

LC

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2020, 07:29:05 AM »
Selling short or buying put options on GOOGL as a way to hedge a long GOOG position would probably be considered a constructive sale (i.e. no different than if you just sold GOOG).

You should look for tech-focused ETFs that closely track GOOG, something like XLK, VGT, IYW, FTEC...